Domain Name Suggestions Please…

22 05 2007

Lately, I have been contemplating on getting my own domain name and webhost. I have been reading several blogs and I was really inspired to continue blogging and hopefully create my own niche in the blogosphere and maybe earn a little from it. πŸ˜‰

I started blogging several years ago with Blogger without even knowing what a blog really is and I didn’t realized until I join wordpress that I have been “blogging” na pala all those time. he he he. But I stopped blogging for about a year or two because I forgot my Blogger username and password, ulyanin noh? Gladly, I was able to recover my old blog when they implemented the use of your gmail account as your login ID, I was able to claim my old blog and I was able to export my old post to my wordpress blog eventually. I continued my old blog in blogger but I didn’t use my old layout and blogname (“angelicwitches”) anymore since I am not much into witchcraft now. he he he.

Then eto, I came across WordPress, I tried it and instantly fell inlove with it. I find it so user-friendly and I love the clean look of the generic themes available. But not being able to tinker much with the layout and not being able to post ads and other scripts on my blog made me think of getting my own domain name and subscribing to a webhost, which I read is also needed if I want to earn from it or as a pro blogger would say “monetize my blog”.

Now, my dilemma! I don’t know what domain name to use and which webhost to subscribe to. For the domain name I have been discussing several options with my hubby, but our best choice is not available already. On this site I used my name https://happypajimna.wordpress.com” and it’s not for any reason but only because I never realized that this would be my address already he he he. I thought I was just asked to input my name, so I typed in “happypajimna” ha ha ha! Realizing my mistake or better my “kabobohan”, bumawi na lang ako sa sitename, I named my blog Bittersweet Coffee my original choice for my blogname (obvious ba na caffeine addict?) πŸ˜‰ The sad part now, when I checked with the domain name registration, “bittersweetcoffee.com” is no longer available, Waaah! I also checked my other option “coffeechic.com” my my old blog’s current title, it is not available either! Now, I am afraid that I might be stucked with “happypajimna.com” once more. 😦

I have a few names in mind but I am not completely sold with any of it yet, and my hubby said they all sounds silly! πŸ™‚ Anyway, here are my choices: Let me know what you think?

1. HappySleeps – because Happy loves to Sleep πŸ˜‰
2. CoffeeSnores – because I love Coffee and I Snore! Ha ha ha! πŸ˜€
3. Bittersweethappy – this one is my hubby’s suggestion, and I am currently using it as the current URL for my Coffee Chic blog. But I don’t like it much.

My other choices really sounds silly, so I’ll post these three na lang. Please send me your suggestions or I’ll end up with “happypajimna.com” oh no! please No!!!

Actions

Information

4 responses

22 05 2007
sasha

Hi Happy Lizzette! πŸ™‚ Thank you so much for the kind words! It’s people like you who inspire me to make my blogging better and better each day. I will link you up and fave you in my Technorati fave blogs so I will be updated on what is happening in this blog of yours πŸ™‚

With regards to the domain name, you might want to consider getting one which is SEO friendly. Or something that will be easily remembered by your dailies and visitors. I was supposed to get “adik-ako” as domain name because it ultimately describes who I am… an addict! Hehehe… Addicted to blogging, reading, God, etc. Positive sana but a couple of friends advised me against it kasi negative daw masyado.

I read somewhere naman that it would be good to get a tagalog word that is maganda ang dating and parang interesting… “misteryosa” is a really good example but it was already taken πŸ™‚

Hmm… I will think of a name with coffee in it hehe… In your choices, I like CoffeeSnores over the others πŸ™‚

And if you ever need help in setting up your domain, just holler. I will gladly help you πŸ™‚

Happy Tuesday, sis! πŸ™‚

22 05 2007
Laibeus Lord

Hi πŸ˜€

I strongly suggest that you instead provide a form or a temporary email where they can give domain suggestions.

There are many domain squatters who will register domain suggestions faster than you could πŸ˜‰ You don’t want to lose that cool domain name :p

Regards and good luck,
JCuneta.

22 05 2007
Happy Lizzette

@ Laibeus Lord – Hi! thanks for the suggestion, but I am afraid I don’t know how to setup a form and email. 😦

22 05 2007
Happy Lizzette

@ Sasha – Thanks for the link and fave πŸ™‚ As for your domain name decision, I think you made the right choice with “Sasha Says” its so direct to the point and at the same time sounds sexy. πŸ˜‰ I really love it.

Yeah, I read that post by “Misteryosa” too, but in the only tagalog name I came up with is “Kape Ni Ligaya” ha ha ha! sagwa no? I like the “coffeesnores” too but I need some backing up for my hubby is not that sold with it. So pag marami nag suggest ng coffesnores wala na siya magawa. he he πŸ˜‰

I would definitely holler around once I get to setup my new domain. Thank you again and it’s so nice to finally have a friend online. Happy Tuesday to you too! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

